Progress Report, Week Two

     This week I have continued to search for various information concerning my research question of “What are the best practices for developing small game applications on Android and Apple devices?” I revised the question only slightly, because on reflection I have decided that only Android or Apple devices are worth researching since there is already an overabundance of information on the topic already. I am still going to use literature research as my main form of information gathering, but since I still want at least one interview or survey to be answered I figured I should try to contact some game developers early on. I hope that I get some questions answered about how they developed their games in hopes that it sheds some light into the complicated and daunting process of designing, creating, programming and constant updating of a game.
     In my research journey I am staying consistent with my investigation and I believe I am exactly where I need to be. I am diving into a very deep information pool and grabbing at the most relevant subjects to my research question and anything else that might help me along the way such as contact information for some of the teams. At this point I feel like I have a plethora of choices and avenues to explore concerning the subject and I am just feeling it out right now until I build a solid foundation surrounding my question.
     The only issue I have run into that I mentioned last week is that I am finding a massive amount of information and trying to decipher what it all means to me concerning my project is becoming a massive task on its on. Fortunately most of it seems to be speculations, general philosophy about their games or authors opinions on why certain projects failed and others succeeded. I am only focusing on interviews or any other form of information directly from the companies that highlight what they specifically attribute their success too.
     This week I found a couple of great leads filled with some information from the teams that made Candy Crush Soda Saga and Clash of Clans. I am analyzing more than just them, but for the moment I like the points these teams made about how they found success and thought I would share them here. Candy Crush found its success with proper data gathering and a strategic ad planning campaign. Clash of Clans believes it has been successful because of its small “cells” or small teams that passionately work hard on games they would want to play themselves. (Hence the name SuperCell.) I have found a few more, but I’m on the fence as to whether or not they provide me with enough good information to include in my final analysis. This is a lot farther than I thought I would be last week though and hope to make great strides toward putting it all together soon.
     Next week I will be looking at more project plans to start comparing and contrasting these teams business models and see what they had in common and what they didn’t. The details are sketchy  about how they were successful sometimes, but that’s also why next week I plan to have a series of questions ready to ask some teams if they respond to any emails I send them regarding this project. Hopefully I will get a response from at least one of them by the end of the project.
Article – How We Developed Candy Crush Soda Saga
Article -SuperCell : Our Story
Leave a Reply

